top of page

Discussion between Subaru and Roswaal in Arc 4

Previously on story :

Elsa : Hi (Killing Beatrice)

Roswaal : Hi (Killing everyone then committing suicide)

(Subaru dies and return by death, only to see more deaths of his)

Echidna : Would you make a contract with me?

Subaru : Hell, no.

After rejecting Echidna's contract, Subaru wakes up outside of the grave, dragged by wounded Patrasche. He first gets determination to clear the 3rd Trial. When he tries to enter the grave, however, he feels severe pain and tumbles to the ground, realizing he can no longer enter the grave.

He deduces Echidna took away his qualification as a price for grabbing Satella's hand instead of hers, and this will be continued on even if he returns by death, meaning he can no longer ask help from Echidna in Arc 4's loops unless he agrees on the contract.

(Echidna's grave rejects anyone without qualification. Severity depends on the amount of mana, ranging from ordinary person (feeling severe pain) to Roswaal (Gate explosion, Which he got in the start of Arc 4))

Subaru thinks hard alone on what to do, and decides to go and see Roswaal.

(He wants to get Roswaal's help by tricking him, knowing that the Gospels are not perfect.)

When they meet, Subaru's first question is [Is there a way to liberate the Sanctuary without the Trial] and Roswaal's reply is [Subaru-kun, how many times did you try?], which Subaru answers ambiguously.

Roswaal is first suspicious of Subaru's determination, who could have overcame anything with his Return by Death, but answers anyway persuaded by Subaru's fluent talk.

[Roswaal : I like the change in your way of thought, but it's hard to answer that. It is unprecedented. There's no report of the barrier breaking apart after deployed. I never thought there would be a crack. Thinking about the creator, I cannot make positive assumption of any mistakes on the barrier.]

[Subaru : Echidna's barrier...]

[Roswaal : Sure, Grave in the Sanctuary is for her, and the barrier is made to keep the halfs she used in her experiment when she was alive... At least you should know this much.]

[Subaru : Of course. In addition, I also know about Lewes Meyer inside the laboratory at the forest, her clones, and that Garfiel has the command on those clones.]

[Roswaal : That makes our talk faster.]

Subaru tries to persuade Roswaal that liberation of the Sanctuary is really minor goal in the whole Royal Selection and they can return on this later, while Roswaal says it must be done for Emilia to prove herself, and also for Subaru to prove his ability to Roswaal.

Then, Subaru asks directly.

[Subaru : Isn't there your own reason trying to liberate the Sanctuary?]

Roswaal asks back to Subaru that he lacks the determination to do the Trial himself instead of Emilia, that he should sacrifice anything for Emilia if he loves her that much.

(Subaru thinks if he follows Roswaal or Echidna, he could have saved everyone no matter how he's damaged, but doubts if he could smile for real besides them)

[Subaru : As you say, if I tried to protect only Emilia instead of everyone, I must be successful on that, but that is not enough.]

[Roswaal : Not enough?]

[Subaru : I am going to save Emilia. However, I am not content on only Emilia. Rem, Beatrice, villagers in Sanctuary, people in the mansion, those benefactors in the capital, I want to save everyone.]

Roswaal is disappointed hearing that, and decides to give up 'this life'.

Roswaal explains only thing he needs is the liberation of the Sanctuary, which can be only done by Subaru.

[Subaru : How is the story going like that? Yes, it could show my determination. But only that won't be enough for you. If it is only about passing the Trial, it doesn't connect anywhere on me abandoning everything. Even Emilia can pass the Trial on her own...]

[Roswaal : That's just impossible. Your baseless expectation won't be realized. Emilia-sama passing the Trial is impossible. That thing isn't that strong.]

[Subaru : That thing?]

[Roswaal : Of course. I know there's environmental and cultural influence, but that thing's hopeless. Just a small and weak child who cannot stand on her own. Moving on because of guilt, I feel even compassion for her.]

[Subaru : Then, if you think Emilia is that hopeless... Why, why she's here!]

[Roswaal : Because you are here. Because of you, even a powerless half-elf could aim for the throne. No, she will be the king. You will prevent any other possibility from happening, and finally grant her wish. You just got that kind of power. If Emilia-sama has any value, it is having you, the strongest card, as her ally.]

Subaru defends Emilia's efforts, which Roswaal deems worthless when there's no result. Roswaal claims that Subaru wouldn't have returned here if she had any success.

Subaru thinks hard trying to find something that could attack Roswaal. And he does.

[Subaru : I think you want me to pass the Trial instead of Emilia... Echidna revoked my qualification for the Trial! Result you want is already over from me! Unfortunately!]

[Roswaal : Qualification, revoked?]

Subaru tries to get some feeling of victory, but is surprised to see Roswaal shocked even beyond his expectation, losing his calm attitude completely.

[Roswaal : How could it be...]

[Subaru : How could? Echidna revoked my qualification. Current me can't take the clone's command, or enter the grave. I am now same as you, rejected by the Grave.]

[Roswaal : No, how could it turn like that? You have to take the Trial in the grave... If not, the liberation of this Sanctuary is... her wish is...]

[Subaru : Does your Gospel tell you it's me who passes the Trial?]

Roswaal continues his desperation and asks Subaru if he can revert time to get the qualification back, which Subaru answers it's impossible because he cannot go back beyond the point of revocation (TL : As you know, this is more like half true)

Subaru tries to persuade shocked Roswaal, but Roswaal regains his composure in a different way.

[Roswaal : My plan of driving you to the corner wasn't enough.]

[Subaru : What?]

[Roswaal : I don't know exact reason, but Echidna and you must have had enough interactions before that revocation. Originally, you should have passed the Trial before that happened. Yes. I haven't gone far enough.]

Subaru already had some suspicions on Roswaal, but he couldn't believe himself until he hear this.

[Roswaal : Knowing Garfiel's nature and bringing you and Emilia-sama into the Sanctuary...]

[Roswaal : Making you loop constantly, showing Emilia-sama being damaged by the Trial...]

[Roswaal : And destroying the precious things beyond your reach, and completing you. All weren't enough]

Subaru can understand from his word that it was Roswaal who ordered Elsa to assassinate everyone in the mansion.

[Subaru : Beyond reach means...]

[Roswaal : You already know the answer. When both precious things are in peril, person has to choose. Choose what's more important, and abandon the other. Continuing that and leaving the only precious thing, makes you complete.]

Of course, Subaru can't understand anything on Roswaal, who kills everyone in the mansion only to complete Subaru.

[Subaru : Roswaal... Are you insane?]

[Roswaal : If you ask that, yes I am. Charmed by that eyes 400 years ago, I have been out of mind.]

(Roswaal stands up face-to-face with Subaru)

[Roswaal : Then, why aren't you out of mind? Like me, no, even more than me, you should be out of your mind. You should be on the level where no one can dare without being insane. What you want is much bigger and farther away than what I want. Walking down the lone way no one could understand, you don't need humane mind.]

[Subaru : No matter saying about insanity, your plan falls apart from my qualification gone! Everything you did including the mansion is meaningless sacrifices! If you can understand, stop that right now!]

[Roswaal : I refuse. Seeing your lack of determination, I understand more on the necessity of doing so. You don't have to be human being. I will corner and damage you enough to abandon your humanity, and make you depend on Emilia-sama. I will also make Emilia-sama to depend on only you, misunderstanding it as love. Making you and her depending only on each other, That will be the only way to accomplish my goal.]

[Subaru : No matter how I'm damaged, qualification gone will never return back! It's all meaningless!]

[Roswaal : You might know the best if it was her real intention. If a person like you returns, Echidna will be full of joy, reissuing qualification or whatever. It is obvious regarding her nature which even I know.]

[Roswaal : (Filled with rage) Don't be full of yourself, Natsuki Subaru. You aren't the only person understanding Echidna]

Hearing Roswaal's voice with rage, Subaru finally notices that Roswaal's goal is somehow related to Echidna.

[Subaru : You're prioritizing the liberation of the Sanctuary, because it was Echidna's wish, isn't it?]

[Roswaal : In her life, Echidna was curious on what end the Sanctuary will meet after her death. She devised some mechanism on the grave and resides as soul. However, the end she sought hasn't arrived here even after 400 years.]

Subaru tries to persuade Roswaal to cancel the assassination, which Roswaal replies their sacrifices are inevitable.

Then Subaru threatens him to reveal everything happened to the public, which Roswaal replies it will mean the end of Emilia's race for the throne.

Lastly, Subaru tells him that he will reveal the assassination plan to Garfiel, who is younger brother of Frederica. Roswaal sneers that Garfiel will never leave the Sanctuary, in fear of what might happen in his absence.

[Roswaal : Garfiel will never help you. I will never stop my plan. You should become complete wearing your mind out in impossible situation. I don't need anymore than that. Decide now, Natsuki Subaru -that you don't care anyone dying except Emilia-sama.]

[Subaru : Stop! I won't become like you! Your, your way of thinking is inhuman! I am human, no matter how I got this unknown power and feel pain from it, I won't go beyond that. I will remain as human.]

[Roswaal : I don't care. You got infinite times of tries, and so do I. I am not giving up on persuading you. I am just leaving it onto 'next me'.]

[Subaru : Even if I fail this time and get next, or next of next chances, I will never comply on your proposal. Not yours.]

[Roswaal : Get out of this room. I already lost my reason to live this life.]

Subaru get out of his room.


bottom of page